May 19, 2013
Document Actions

Women's Studies



Women's Studies has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Women's Studies HQ1154-1180
Feminism HQ1154
Feminist Theory HQ1190
Women's History HQ1121


Women's Studies Print Resources


Dictionaries


The Routeledge Companion to Feminism and Postfeminism. New York: Routledge, 2001. - This is a critical dictionary of persons and key concepts in the field of feminist and postfeminist thought. The text includes bibliographical references and an index.[UTPA E-Book]


Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories. New York: Routledge, 2000. - Contained with in this e-book is information about current and past feminist theories as well as biographical sketches of important theorist in this field. Bibliographic references are also present at the end of each article in this resource.[UTPA E-Book]

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. - This four volume set covers women and women's issues in world history from ancient to modern times. Individual articles include extensive bibliographies. The volumes are not illustrated.[HQ1121 .O93 2008]

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. New York : Routledge, 2000. - Addresses the concerns of women and the theory and practices of feminism around the world. It is a four volume set with bibliographic references and an index.[REF HQ1115.R69 2000]

Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2004. - This two volume set has over 300 entries dealing with various topics and important women of the Middle Ages. It covers Europe as well as other regions. The work also contains bibliographic references divided into primary and secondary sources at the end of each article.[REF HQ1143.W643 2004]


Journals


Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society. - The study of women in a culture context; articles about women's experiences in different countries including sexuality, linguistics, and women in literature. Also has book reviews. [PER HQ1101.S5]

Women and Health. - This journal relates to women's views and beliefs regarding their health and specifically women's health issues. Psychological issues related to health states and issues are examined at length. [PER RG1.W64]

Women's Rights Law Reporter. - This journal describes itself as "a feminist legal journal." "The reporter provides a critique of law and society through the lens of gender." The periodical reviews laws and how legislation effects women in society. It covers worldwide issues and is interdisciplinary in nature. [PER KF478.A45 W6]

Women's Studies Quarterly. - This publication explores a wide range of women's issues including life stories, book reviews, women's experiences in different places, and examines women's studies as a discipline. It has a wide range of articles, and therefore a wide range of usage. This is an excellent resource to become acquaited with the field. [PER HQ1181.U5 W657]


Women's Studies Electronic Resources


Databases


The Gerritsen Collection - This Women's Online History resource includes resource from 1543 to 1945 is the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages with two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works.

Latin American Women Writers - As a database Latin American Women Writers brings together the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection including literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials from the colonial period to the present.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries - This web resource is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers" via 150,000 pages of letters and diaries.


On-line Journals


Third Space. - An on-line peer reviewed journal of women's issues with full text. Contains an archive of issues going back to 2001.

Outskirts. - This on-line resource was created by The University of Western Australia. It is a feminist cultural studies journal published online twice yearly in May and November. It provides a space in which new and challenging critical material from a range of disciplinary perspectives and addressing a range of feminist topics and issues are brought together to discuss and contest contemporary and historical issues involving women and feminisms.

Journal of International Women's Studies. - This periodical is an on-line open-access, peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for scholars, activists, and students to explore the realationship between feminist theory and various forms of organizing. The journal seeks both multidisciplinary and cross-cultural perspectives, and invites submissions in the form of scholarly articles, student papers and literary pieces. Through its diverse collection, the journal aims to create an oppurtunity for building bridges across the conventional divides of scholarship and activism; "western and "third world" feminisms; professionals and students; men and women. Toward this end, theeditors encourage responses to previous submissions in forthcoming edititions facilitated by the journal's on-line format.


Websites


Women's Studies Section - This web resource was developed and is maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries. The purpose of WSSLINKS is to provide access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies.

womenshealth.gov - Government website about women's health created by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. They also offer information in Spanish.

Women Watch - Website created by the United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE). It offers information and resources on gender equality and empowerment of women.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 08-28-2012 16:20