May 20, 2013
Document Actions

IGKNU


Integrated Global Knowledge & Understanding Collaboaration Subject Guide

The IGKNU was founded by a grant from the Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI), under the Intelligence Community Centers of Academic Excellence (IC CAE) program, implemented to more broadly educate university students for national security and intelligence professions. The CAE funds a rich constellation of curricular and extra-curricular endeavors that make up the Global Security Studies and Leadership (GSSL) program. Part of the grant also goes to the UTPA Library to create a collection to help support this program. The IGKNU collection is physically located on the third floor of the library in room 310. It contains numerous books and over half a dozen periodicals dedicated to security as well as intelligence issues.


Print Materials


IGKNU Journals


Foreign Affairs. - is produced by the Council on Foreign Relations and deals primarily with U.S. foreign policy and international affairs. This journal is the international forum of choice for the most important new ideas, analysis, and debate on the most significant issues in the world. It is published six times a year and has been in publication since 1922.[D410 .F6]

Intelligence & National Security. - a peer reviewed quarterly journal dealing with espionage topics from a cultural perspective.[JF1525.I6 I575]

International Journal of Intelligence & Counterintelligence. - a quarterly journal that covers espinoage and counter espinoage topics from many different regions and time periods. It also includes extensive bibliographies at the end of articles and charts. [UB250 .I577]

International Security. - is a quarterly journal discussing issues in global security and conflict. [JX1901 .I67]

Journal of Law & Border Studies. - is a serial published by the Center for Law and Border Studies at the University of El Paso. It covers legal, cultural, and security issues dealing with the Mexican/Untied States Border area. [K10.O87318]

ORBIS. - is a quarterly journal of world affairs that offers an informative, insightful and lively discourse on a full range of topics relating to American foreign policy and national security, as well as in-depth analysis on important international developments.[D839 .O68]

Security Studies. - a journal that takes an international and historical view of issues in national security.[UA10.5.S413]

Studies in Conflict & Terrorism. - is a monthly periodical that covers topics in modern insurgancy. The journal primarily discusses terrorism within the past thrity years.[HM136 .S85]


Reference Materials


Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence. - is a two volume set of books detailing individual spies, intelligence agencies, countries, conflicts, espionage technology, and terrorist organizations. It includes bibliographies at the end of articles and photographs. [REF JF1525.I6 E64]

Spytalk: the language of terror. - a signal volume encyclopedic glossary of words, terms, phrases and explanations used in international intelligence. [REF UB270.J653 2002]


Online Materials


UTPA Library Databases


The National Security Archive - is a database that collects and publishes declassified [U.S. government] documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act.


Free Online Journals


Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management - is a free e-journal published on the internet by Berkeley University. It covers issues in emergency services and security here in the United States.


Intelligence Reports - this electronic journal produced by the Southern Poverty Law Center provides up to date information on national extremist groups and there activies within the United States. The website provides electronic issues going back to 1989.


Free International Publications


International Relations and Security Network - is a free web resource that contains publications about security and foreign relations from an international perspective. It is produced by the Center for Security Studies. The International Relations and Security Network is funded by the ETH(Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) Zurich and the Swiss Department of Defense. One of the more useful sets of publications produced by this digital resource are the CSS Analyses in Security Policy(to access click on the link).



Free United States Government Publications


Military Intelligence Professional Bulletin - is a periodical published by the University of Military Intelligence an online educational institution for intelligence professionals. The bulletin covers a number of different aspects of intelligence work including ELINT and knowledge management.

Strategic Insights - an electronic publication produced by the Center for Contemporary Conflict. This e-journals covers warfare both conventional and unconventional world wide.

Strategic Studies Quarterly - is an electronic journal published by the Air University the Intellectual and Leadership Center of the Air Force.

Studies in Intelligence - is an electronic publication of the Central Intelligence Agency. It contains articles dealing with both past and present intelligence issues.

by Carlton Nelson last modified 08-31-2012 15:46