May 19, 2013
Document Actions

Business Administration/Accounting/Marketing/Management



Business, more than any other occupation, is a continual dealing with the future; it is a continual calculation, an instinctive exercise in foresight. --Henry R. Luce

Business Administration/Accounting has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Business HF5351
Accounting HF5635
Marketing HF5415
Finance HG173
Economics HB171.5
Management HD31
Banks and banking HG1601
Industrial Management HD31


Business Administration/Accounting Print Resources


Dictionaries


Dictionary of Free-Market Economics. - Cheltenham, UK; Northampton, MA: E. Elgar, 1998. It includes bibliographic references. This source provides short, free-market definitions of basic terms and concepts as well as information about theories of the market economy and some biographies of prominent economists. [REF HB61.F65 1998]

The Penguin Dictionary of Accounting. - London; New York: Penguin, 2006. Applicable to students and professionals, this source provides authoritative and current definitions for accounting terms, including international terms. [REF HF5621.N635 2006]

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting. - Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Business, 1998. This resource gives readers easy to understand and concise definitions for accounting terms. It is recommended for both experts and beginners. It is indexed and cross-referenced. [REF HF5621.B54 1998]

Dictionary of International Business Terms. - Hauppauge, NY: Barron's, 2006. This dictionary defines approximately 5,000 terms related to the international marketplace. Definitions and explanations focus on international finance and marketing, foreign exchange, import/export, and trade organizations.[REF HD62.4.C36 2004]

Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising. - New York: J. Wiley, 1995. Contains more than 2,000 professional marketing terms and techniques.[REF HF5415.R577 1995]

Dictionary of Marketing Communications. - Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2004. This dictionary is a comprehensive list of the terms and concepts essential to an understanding of marketing communication. (Norman A. Govoni, Author)[REF HF5412.G68 2004]

Global Business Dictionary: English-Chinese-French-German-Japanese-Russian. - Rockville, Md.: Schreiber Pub., 2005. This multilingual dictionary covers multiple areas related to business, such as banking, insurance, real estate, export-import, and the stock market. [REF HF1002.S56 2005]

The Ultimate Business Dictionary: Defining the World of Work. - Cambridge, MA: Perseus Pub., 2003. This resource contains more than 6,000 entries in the following categories: e-commerce, economics, finance, general management, human resources, operations, and statistics. [HF1001.U48 2003]


Encyclopedias


The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. - Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2005. Topics include as knowledge management, globalization, change management, business ethical issues, total quality management, or benchmarking and manufacturing strategies.[REF HD30.15.B455 2005]

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance. - 2 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. This source includes an index. This resource is useful for general readers and students. It discusses the areas of finance and banking, accounting, marketing, management, and information systems. [REF HF1001.E467 2001]

International Encyclopedia of Business and Management. - 8 vols. London: Thomson Learning, 2002. This reference source covers the topics of accounting, operations research, marketing, finance, human resources and other areas pertaining to business and management. It offers international perspectives of the covered areas. [REF HF1001.I53 2002]

Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance [electronic resource]. - Chicago: Probus Pub. Co., 1994. This is an electronic version of the print. This source contains more than 4,000 entries. It covers the areas of banking, business, and finance as well as provides historical backgrounds, analysis of recent trends, statistical data, and more. [electronic resource]

Encyclopedia of American Business. - New York: Facts On File, 2004. This reference source is written for non-specialists, students and general readers. It breaks down business jargon into easy-to-understand terms. It covers the areas of accounting, banking, finance, marketing, and management. It also includes bibliographical references and an index. [REF HF1001.E463 2004]

The IEBM Encyclopedia of Marketing - International Thomson Business Press, 1999. Includes such topics as the nature and scope of marketing, theoretical foundations, marketing management, marketing mix, marketing in practice and special topics such as total quality management and green marketing.[REF HF5412.I32 1999]


Handbooks


Accountants' Handbook. - N.Y.: Ronald Press, 1923- This reference resource provides answers to questions pertaining to accounting and financial reporting. It is useful for accountants, bankers, auditors, lawyers, and financial analysts. [REF HF5621.A22]

Barron's Finance & Investment Handbook [computer file]. - Hauppauge, N.Y.: Barron's Educational Series, 1998. This is an electronic version of the print source. This resource covers investing, contains a dictionary of 5,000 terms, a directory of 6,000 major corporations, and contains lists of brokerage firms, mutual funds, newsletters and historical data.[electronic resource]

Cabell's Directory Of Publishing Opportunities In Marketing. - Beaumont, TX: Cabell Pub. Co., 2006-07. When, where, how, and to whom to submit a marketing manuscript.[REF HF5410.C23]


Journals


Accounting Review. - This journal focuses on articles that report the results of accounting research as well as explain and illustrate relevant research methodology. [PER HF5601.A6]

Journal of Management. - This journal publishes scholarly experimental, observational and theoretical research articles. Its focus is on the management field and covers areas such as strategic management, organizational behavior, human resource management, organizational theory, and entrepreneurship. [PER HD28.J597]

Harvard Business Review. - This is a research-based magazine that provides information about current trends, people and practices in the business world. It offers in-depth information about prominent business professionals, case studies, book reviews, and articles on business management. [PER HF5001.H3]

Business Week. - This magazine provides readers with current business information. It is published by McGraw-Hill and is a popular choice among business professionals. [PER HF5001.B89]

Foundations and Trends in Marketing. - This journal publishes scholarly articles on such subjects as brand attachment, choice models in marketing, and predictability/ reliability of marketing trends. Found in the database, Business Source Complete.[Electronic Resource]

Wall Street Journal. - This newspaper provides up-to-date information pertaining to the market, the economy, investing, and major global stories. Information is both national and international. [PER HG1.W261]


Business Administration/Accounting Electronic Resources


Databases


Business and Company Resource Center- displays company profiles, including parent/sibling relationships, industry rankings, products and brands, current investment ratings, and financial ratios and much more for over 300,000 companies.

Business Source Complete- is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content...[with] indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 ...[and] searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, plus company profiles from Datamonitor.

Datastream- contains more than two million financial instruments, securities and indicators for over 175 countries in 60 markets. Holding up to 50 years of history and over 8,000 different fields, it provides access to over one million time series. Datastream is available only at the College of Business and in the Library. Ask at the Reference Desk for more information.

CCH Tax Service- Click on Enter to begin searching tax cases, Treasury regulations, and more.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe- has "full text company news & financial information...full text federal, state & international legal materials...full text & abstracted medical & health information...general reference sources" and national and international news.

Business Knowledge Research- from The Conference Board has full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics.


Websites


Business.USA.gov- Hosted by the U.S. Government, this site provides information to help small businesses understand legal requirements and find supporting government services. It provides access to Federal, state and local business information.

Economic Census (from the U.S.Census Bureau' Factfinder)- This site provides information pertaining to industrial and business activities. The Economic Census is conducted every five years, in years ending in 2 and 7.

Bureau of Labor Statistics- The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the main fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the area of labor economics and statistics.

Business Ethics- A Website that provides articles, case studies, corporate codes of ethics, professional organizations and other resources. It was created by a professional who holds both a MLS and a MBA.

FedStats- This site produced by the Federal Government provides access to official statistical information. It links to over 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on economics and much more.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 08-28-2012 15:27