"Art is the use of skill and imagination in the creation of aesthetic objects, environments, or experiences that can be shared with others."1


Art has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

.
Art N
Architecture NA
Drawing NC
Graphic Art NC990-999
Interior Decoration NK1900-2110
Photography, Artistic TR642
Painting ND
Sculpture NB
Video Art N6494


Art Print Resources


Dictionaries


Fine and Applied Arts Terms Index.. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1983 - An alphabetical guide to sources of information on than 45,000 terms used by museums, art galleries, and auction galleries. Contains a descriptive bibliography of all material indexed.[REF N34.U72 1983]

Glossary of Art, Architecture, and Design Since 1945.. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1992 - Dictionary of terms and labels spawned since 1945. Contains an index with cross references.[REF N34.W34 1992]

Oxford Concise Dictionary of Art Terms.. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001 - Contains the vocabulary of art and architecture in small, concise entries.[REF N33.C575 2001]

Oxford Dictionary of Art. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997 - Provides an overview of Western art forms and of individual artists from antiquity to the present. Designed for the layman who needs reliable information in an easily accessible form.[REF N33.O93 1997]


Encyclopedias


The Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996 - This 34 volume set is considered the definitive encyclopedia of art. Includes comprehensive coverage of the history of all the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.[REF N31.D5 1996]

Encyclopedia of World Art. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1963- Includes articles on the representational arts of all types, with no limits to the time, place, or cultural environment. In 17 volumes with index and extensive bibliographies following each entry.[REF N31.E533]

Encyclopedia of Artists. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000 - This 6 volume set provides a comprehensive, highly illustrated introduction to Western artists from the Middle Ages to the present. The first five volumes contain biographies of artists in alphabetical order. The 6th volume contains information on different artistic style, from abstract art to the Utrecht School.[REF N31.E53 2000]

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Art. New York: Schirmer Reference, 2002 - Contains nearly 300 biographies of artists in four volumes. Also offers over 100 articles on art eras, movements, and genres.[REF N31.L3 2002]


Journals


The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Critism. - Periodical dealing with art criticism. It is not illustrated. The journal discusses theory and is quarterly.[PER N1.J6]

Artforum. - This journal is fully illustrated and is primarily centered on the visual aspect of art. It is distributed monthly.[PER N1.A814]

Communication Arts. - Periodical that discusses multiple aspects of art. It is divided up into special issues that are concentrated toward one specific discipline of art.[PER NC997.A1 C2]

FMR: the magazine of Franco Maria Ricci. - This is a fully illustrated journal that deals with painting, photography, and clothing.[PER N4.F583]


Art Electronic Resources


Databases


Art Full Text - This database provides citations and abstracts on the arts, architecture, design, cinema, etc., from magazines published around the world. It also includes full text/full image articles.

Humanities Full Text - Is a resource that cites articles from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities, including archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. It also includes full text/full image articles.

JSTOR - This is a electronic resource that provides access to full image articles in art as well as a number of other subjects. The database contains only back issues that have been digitized.

Web of Knowledge - Is a database that contains three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are finished, so that others may use Web of Science.


Websites


Artcyclopedia - This website functions as a repository of fine art-related information and images through its powerful search engine, which allows users to locate “museum-quality fine art on the Internet.” The index has been compiled by focusing primarily on images available from museum websites, online image archives, and other subject-specific Internet resources.

Art in Context - Web resource created by Center for Communications and hosted by the Center for Arts Management and Technology, Carnegie Mellon University. The website contains hundreds of images from numerous contemporary internatioal artists.

Ditto - The electronic resource is a search engine that looks for images on the web. Type in an artists name to get multiply examples of their work.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art - This website is a wonderful web resource that has hundreds of photographs and images of museum's regular and special collections. It also offers pod casts and has an interactive timeline of art history.


1. The New Encyclopedia Britannica Vol. 1 Micropaedia. Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc., 2007. pg. 594.