|
|
Social and Behavioral Sciences
Indexes and Databases available electronically
|
|
If you have questions about or problems
using these databases, please click
here.
|
Click here for a
complete alphabetical list of databases.
|
|
| Academic Search Complete has
citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social
sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
ethnic studies, etc. |
| ACLS Humanities E-Book
(formerly History E-Book) from ACLS provides electronic books in
history "that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, are
frequently cited in the literature, and are currently not widely
available." |
| Adherents.com "is a growing
collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography
citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and
congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches,
denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures,
movements, ultimate concerns, etc." |
| Alcohol
Studies Database "contains over 80,000 citations for journal
articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and
audio-visual materials." |
| Alternative Press Index
provides citations to hundreds of periodicals presenting alternative
views on political, social, economic, and cultural issues. |
| America: History and Life with
Full Text "is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of
the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present." |
| Annual Reviews has
citations and abstracts for biomedical, physical, and social
sciences. |
| Anthropological
Index to Current Periodicals in The Anthropology Library at the
British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological
Institute library) |
| Arte Publico Hispanic Historical
Collection presents a digital collection of historical content
pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. |
| National
Archeological Database Reports module, "is an
expanded bibliographic inventory of ... reports on archeological
investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation." |
| Bibliography of Native North
Americans "is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of
native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers
a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations,
gaming, governance, legend, and literacy... Dates of coverage for
included content range from the sixteenth century to the present." |
| British Periodicals
Collection provides "facsimile page images and searchable full text
for more than 500 British periodicals published between 1681 and
1921." |
| Counseling and Therapy in Video
is an "online collection of video available for the study of
counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric
counseling." |
| Criminal Justice
Abstracts "provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in
criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and
unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental
agencies." |
| Criminal Justice
Periodicals Index provides citations/abstracts from around 200
journals, with full text/full image articles from more than one fourth
of them. |
| Digital National Security Archive
has "the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary
documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945." |
| DOAJ (Directory of Open Access
Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
scholarly journals." |
| Early Encounters in North America
contains "over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts
of early encounters." |
| Early English Books Online
includes full image works from 15th, 16th, and 17th century English
literature. It includes lesser known works, as well as the classics,
along with "prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs,
calendars, and many other primary sources." |
| Eighteenth Century Collections
Online has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books
published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of
approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are
history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law. |
| Emerald provides full text
articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice,
economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship,
management, marketing, and more. |
| Essay and General Literature Index
"is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained
in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the
United States, Great Britain, and Canada." The index "focuses on the
humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from
economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary
works, drama, and film." |
| Filmakers Library Online "provides
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum-race
and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies,
multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the
environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events,
psychology, arts, literature, and more." |
| Fuente Academica "is a unique
collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American
and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many
academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences,
political science, law, computer science, library & information
sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and
theology." |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts,
business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and
other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects. |
| The Gerritsen Collection:
Women's Online History, 1543--1945, is "the greatest single
source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials
spanning four centuries and fifteen languages...[with] two million page
images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works." |
| GreenFile: This new database
covers alternative fuel sources, energy conservation, global
warming, natural resources, pollution, recycling, and
beyond. Anyone with an interest in environmental issues and who
needs resource material regarding these subjects will find this
database to be an invaluable tool. |
| HAPI Hispanic American
Periodical Index (HAPI) "is your source for over 265,000
journal article citations about Central America, South America, the
Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United
States." |
| HarpWeek "consists of the pages
of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images", from 1857 to
1893, with searchable full text to 1912. |
| Health and Psychosocial Instruments
(HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments
(i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures,
coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health
fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and
information science." |
| HeritageQuest Online, which
"provides libraries a unique, growing collection of research materials
for tracing family history and American culture," includes complete
U.S. federal Census, 1790--1930, obituaries, Freedman's Savings &
Trust Company bank records, records on veterans of the American
Revolution, and more. |
| Historical Abstracts with Full
Text is a "complete reference guide to the history of the world
from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which
are covered in America: History and Life)." |
| History
Cooperative is a combined effort by The American Historical
Association, the Organization of American Historians, the University of
Illinois Press, and the National Academy Press to create this resource
for historians on the Web, making the full text of current issues of
the American Historical Review and the Journal of American History
available electronically to members of the AHA and OAH and to
institutions that subscribe to the print versions of these
journals. |
| ICPSR (the Inter-university
Consortium for Political and Social Research) "established in 1962, is
an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. [It]
maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data
for research and instruction...ICPSR does not provide publications,
reports, or ready-made statistics,... [but instead supplies] the
numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and
figures." |
| Images of America: A History of
American Life in Images and Texts "presents the everyday people,
places, and events that have shaped American history and culture. The
collection, drawn from Arcadia Publishing's award-winning line of local
history books, features images and texts assembled by thousands of
local experts." |
| In the First Person
"lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all
letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within
scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander
Street databases." If full text is not available, information about the
archive where documents are stored is provided. |
| IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
| Journal Citation Reports (JCR): Social
Sciences Edition is the leading authority for evaluating the impact
of cited journals in social sciences and indexes over 1700 social
science journals. |
| JSTOR is a full image database of
back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies,
anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education,
finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. |
| Latin American Women Writers brings
together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the
works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including]
... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from
the colonial period to the present." |
| Legal Collection "contains full
text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law
journals." |
| LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
has "full text company news & financial information...full text
federal, state & international legal materials...full text &
abstracted medical & health information...general reference
sources" and national and international news. |
| Library Literature and Information
Science Abstracts "indexes articles and book reviews of key library
and information science periodicals published in the United States and
elsewhere...Books, chapters in collected works such as conference
proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed." It
also includes full text/full image articles. |
| Medieval
Feminist Index "covers over 350 international journals as well as
book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender
during the Middle Ages." |
| Mental Measurements
Yearbook "contains fulltext information about and reviews of all
English-language standardized tests covering educational skills,
personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as
included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks." A second
browser window will open automatically, where you will have to check
Mental Measurements Yearbook and then click on Open Selected
Databases.[Uses Pop-Up Windows] |
| Military and Government
Collection provides full text from almost 400 military and general
interest publications ... to bring current news to all branches of the
military. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 500
magazines. |
| National
Archeological Database Reports module "is an expanded bibliographic
inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and
planning, mostly of limited circulation." |
| National Criminal Justice Reference
Service (NCJRS) "contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal
justice publications." Some of these documents are in our 3rd
floor microfiche collection under the call number HV 7231 .N4. Use the
NCJ number to locate the exact microfiche. |
| Bibliography of Native North
Americans "is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of
native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers
a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations,
gaming, governance, legend, and literacy... Dates of coverage for
included content range from the sixteenth century to the
present." |
| North American Immigrant Letters,
Diaries and Oral Histories, "composed of contemporaneous letters
and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives,
... provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of
disciplines." |
| Palmer's Full Text Online indexes
The Times of London for 1790--1905, with full text images of
The Times for 1800--1870. |
| Periodicals Archive Online contains
full page images to millions of articles, from hundreds of journals, in
37 subject areas within the humanities and social sciences, with deep
chronological coverage going back over 200 years. |
| Political Database of the
Americas "contains hard copy information on the institutional,
constitutional and political structures of the region." |
| PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas
Sociales y Humaní³´icas) "is a comprehensive reference resource providing
full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for
the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and
the Caribbean Basin." |
| Project MUSE provides online
full-text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities and social
sciences journal titles. |
| PsycARTICLES "is a database
of full-text articles from journals published by the American
Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation,
the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The
database includes all material from the print journals." |
| Psychology & Behavioral
Sciences Collection includes 350 peer reviewed journals, many PDF
images and over 450 full text articles. |
| PsycINFO "contains more than
one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters,
books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of
psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal
coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international
material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35
languages." |
| Science Direct provides
full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and
humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering,
energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials
science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences
journals. Click on either the Publications button or the
Search button to begin your search. |
| Social Sciences Full Text
covers "a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad
array of social sciences journals." It includes some full text/full
image articles, but also some abstracts without full text. |
| Social Work Abstracts
"contains more than 35,000 records ... from social work and other
related journals." A second browser window will open automatically,
where you will have to check Social Work Abstracts and then
click on Open Selected Databases.[Uses Pop-Up
Windows] |
| SocINDEX with Full Text has
millions of citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some
going back to 1895), plus conference papers, books, and other
items. |
| Twentieth Century Advice
Literature contains " fully searchable handbooks, manuals,
textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets,
and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved
and how they felt they ought to behave." |
| Web of Knowledge contains
three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities
Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text
articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the
LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are
finished, so that others may use Web of Science. |
| Wiley Online Library
hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of
online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social
science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to
over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of
reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Click on
Journal Search to look for articles. |
| Women and Social Movements
International "provides an unparalleled survey of how women's
struggles against gendered inequalities promoted their engagement with
other issues over time and across cultures." When completed in December
of 2012, this database will encompass 150,000 pages. |
| World History Collection
offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North
and South America, Europe and the Middle East...[with] cover-to-cover
full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed
journals." |
|
|
Return to the top of this page.
|
by
vcarrillo
—
last modified
10-31-2012 11:01
|