|
|
Business, Law, and Government
Indexes and Databases available electronically
|
|
If you have questions about or problems
using these databases, please click
here.
|
Click here for a
complete alphabetical list of databases.
|
|
| Academic Search Complete has
citations and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social
sciences, humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences,
ethnic studies, etc. |
| American
FactFinder has information from the United States 2000 census. |
| Business Full Text provides
citations and abstracts to hundreds of business periodicals. It also
includes full text/full image articles. |
| Business Knowledge Research
from The Conference Board has full-text research reports on the
latest issues in business management and US and global economics. |
| Business Source
Complete "is the world's definitive scholarly business database,
providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text
content...[with] indexing and abstracts for the most important
scholarly business journals back to 1886 ...[and] searchable cited
references provided for more than 1,200 journals," plus company
profiles from Datamonitor. |
| CCH Tax Service First time users
will have to create a username and password. |
| Commerce Business Daily
(CBDNet) "is the Government's official FREE electronic version of the
Commerce Business Daily (CBD)." |
| CQ Researcher "offers in-depth,
non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular
reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the
environment, technology and the U.S. economy." |
| Criminal Justice
Abstracts "provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in
criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and
unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental
agencies." |
| Criminal Justice
Periodicals Index provides citations/abstracts from around 200
journals, with full text/full image articles from more than one fourth
of them. |
| CRSP The Center for Research in Security Prices contains
stock price information from stocks traded on the New York Stock
Exchange and NASDAQ. This database is available only at the College of
Business. Please ask at the Reference Desk for assistance. |
| Datastream contains more than two million financial
instruments, securities and indicators for over 175 countries in 60
markets. Holding up to 50 years of history and over 8,000
different fields, it provides access to over one million time
series. Datastream is available only at the College of Business
and in the Library. Ask at the Reference Desk for more
information. |
| Digital National Security Archive
has "the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary
documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945." |
| DOAJ (Directory of Open Access
Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
scholarly journals." |
| Econlit "the American Economic
Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of
references to economic literature." It contains over 700,000 records,
with some links to full text. |
| Economia y Negocios "is the
result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN
(Escuela de Administració® ¤e Negocios para Graduados). This continuously
updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research
conducted in the areas of business and economics." |
| Eighteenth Century Collections
Online has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books
published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of
approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are
history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law. |
| Emerald provides full text
articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice,
economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship,
management, marketing, and more. |
| Filmakers Library Online "provides
award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum-race
and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies,
multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the
environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events,
psychology, arts, literature, and more." |
|
Financial Times allows you to "search and read over 8.5 million
articles from 3,000 periodicals worldwide, most of them for free." |
| Fuente Academica "is a unique
collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American
and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many
academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences,
political science, law, computer science, library & information
sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and
theology." |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts,
business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and
other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects. |
| GPO Access, a
service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, provides the official,
published version of important information produced by all branches and
agencies the Federal Government, including the United States Government
Manual, the Code of Federal Regulations, the United States
Constitution, Supreme Court decisions, and much, much more. |
| Health and Psychosocial Instruments
(HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments
(i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures,
coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health
fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and
information science." |
| Hoover's Online is a
free subset of Hoover's business information. |
| ICPSR (the Inter-university
Consortium for Political and Social Research) "established in 1962, is
an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. [It]
maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data
for research and instruction...ICPSR does not provide publications,
reports, or ready-made statistics,... [but instead supplies] the
numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and
figures." |
| IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
| Internet and Personal Computing
Abstracts "provides abstracts and indexing for literature related
to personal computing products and developments in business, the
Internet, the home, and all other applied areas...[from] over 400 of
the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines,
and professional journals." |
| JSTOR is a full image database of
back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies,
anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education,
finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. |
| Legal Collection "contains full
text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law
journals." |
| LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
has "full text company news & financial information...full text
federal, state & international legal materials...full text &
abstracted medical & health information...general reference
sources" and national and international news. |
| MergentOnline (formerly
FISOnline) has business and financial information
from Mergent, Inc. (formerly Moody's.) (Mergent currently does
not work with older Netscape browsers or with Apple/MacIntosh
computers.) |
| Military and Government
Collection provides full text from almost 400 military and general
interest publications ... to bring current news to all branches of the
military. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 500
magazines. |
| The National Security
Archive "collects and publishes declassified [U.S. government]
documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act." |
| NetAdvantage offers ready access
to Standard & Poor's premium content such as Industry Surveys,
Stock Reports, Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of
Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund
Reports, and others. |
| OmniFile Full Text includes
complete content from most of our other WilsonWeb databases, plus full
text biological, agricultural, and legal articles. |
| Periodicals Archive Online contains
full page images to millions of articles, from hundreds of journals, in
37 subject areas within the humanities and social sciences, with deep
chronological coverage going back over 200 years. |
| Population Index
"covers all fields of interest to demographers. Contains selective
indexing with abstracts from journals, books, working papers, doctoral
dissertations and other sources." |
| Regional Business News
provides comprehensive full text for 35 international newswires and
over 50 regional business publications, plus citations and abstracts
for additional publications. |
| Science Direct provides
full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and
humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering,
energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials
science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences
journals. Click on either the Publications button or the
Search button to begin your search. |
| SpringerLINK provides
abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published
by Springer. The articles/journals are in the fields of computer
science, economics, engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life
and physical sciences. Click on search to begin your search for
articles. |
| THOMAS, from the Library of
Congress, makes "federal legislative information [plus Congressional
activities, treaties, presidential nominations, and much more] freely
available to the public." |
| Vocational and Career
Collection "provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and
industry-related periodicals." |
| Web of Knowledge contains
three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities
Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text
articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the
LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are
finished, so that others may use Web of Science. |
| Wiley Online Library
hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of
online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social
science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to
over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of
reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Click on
Journal Search to look for articles. |
|
|
Return to the top of this page.
|
by
vcarrillo
—
last modified
04-24-2013 09:15
|