May 21, 2013
Document Actions

Computer Information Systems



Computer Information Systems has many different sub-fields that can be located under set Library of Congress Subject Headings in our collection. You can also use these sub-fields as topics for subject searches in our on-line catalog.

Computer Science QA76
Computer Software QA76.754
Computer Networks TK5105.5
Computer Viruses QA76.76
Electronic Data Processing HF5548
Database Management and Design QA76.9
Office Practice Automation HF5548.2
Programming QA76.6
Systems Software QA76.9


Computer Information Systems Print Resources


Dictionaries


The Computer and Information Science and Technology Abbreviations and Acronyms Dictionary. - A complete reference resource on abbreviated terminology used by computer and information specialist. [REF QA76.15.S63 1994]

The Facts on File Dictionary of Computer Science. - This monograph is a reference resource designed to be used in educational institutions for students of computer science and other individuals interested in the subject. It includes an appendix symbols and file extensions. [REF QA76.15.F345 2001]

Webster's New World Computer Dictionary. - Created by Websters this dictionary contains over 4750 terms covering computers and computer science. [REF QA76.15.P395 2003]


Encyclopedias


Computer Desktop Encyclopedia. - This resource is a concise one volume encyclopedia of terms, people, and machines important to computer science and its history. [REF QA76.15.F732 2001]

Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History. - The two volume encyclopedia set looks at terms, persons, and computers important to the history of computer science. It covers everything from C++ to the Turing Test. [REF QA76.15.E53 2001]

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology. - This single volume is reference book designed to give both general readers, students, and professionals an overview of the field of computer science. It includes a time line and an extensive bibliography as well as suggestions for further reading at the end of each article. [REF QA76.15.H43 2003]

Encyclopedia of Information Systems. - Four volume set that examines the core topics of information science. It contains illustrations as well as bibliographies at the end of each article. [REF QA76.15.E516 2003]


Journals


ACM Computing Surveys. - A quarterly computer science journal by the ACM that discusses all areas of computing research. [PER QA76.5C617]

ACM Transactions on Information and System Security. - A scholarly journal that publishes original research in all areas of information and system security, including technologies, systems, applications and policies. [PER 76.9.A25 A25]

Information Systems Research. - This is a periodical dedicated to furthering knowledge that aids in the productive application of information technology to human organizations, their management and more broadly, to improved economic and social welfare. [PER QA76.27.I534]

Journal of the ACM. - This is the main periodical of the Association for Computing Machinery. It is produced as a forum for professionals, students, educators and other interested in the field of computer and information systems. [PER QA76.A77]


Computer Information Systems Electronic Resources


Databases


ACM: Association for Computing Machinery - includes magazines and journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. Only the journal articles are available in full text; click on Digital Library to search for them.

Computer Source - provides the "latest information on trends in high technology ...with abstracts and indexing for over 150 titles."

EEVL Xtra - cross-searches 20 databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find articles, books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest research, industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc, in engineering, mathematics and computing. It includes some full text articles.

IEEE/IEE - Electronic Library Online has nearly a third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science, including full text database of journals, conference proceedings and standards in the field.


Websites


Charles Babbage Institute - "is an archives and research center dedicated to preserving the history of information technology and promoting and conducting research in the field." Includes digitized images & oral history interviews.

Computer Incident Advisory Capability - U.S. Department of Energy site to check for computer virus news and hoaxes, email chain letters, and other security issues and resources.

Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures - Is web resource of computer related terms created by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Intute: Science, Engineering, and Technology - is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. It covers the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science. The database currently contains 34321 records.


by Carlton Nelson last modified 07-24-2009 08:30